Poem

14 Aug

by Anonymous

*Trigger Warning*

How dare he victimize me?

Force a giant to feel small

Make me unsafe in my own home, sick in my own skin

Scratching and scrubbing till my cover wears thin

How dare he make me feel less than my worth

And tattoo on my body his permanent curse

 

Reduce a life to a story

A one-liner on a discarded warning label

Wash cold – will unravel – hang to dry

 

Make my mind a revolving record

Forced to reply and rewind and futilely try to re-write

How dare he turn pleasure into pain – my loss to his gain

Sick to remember but it rides through my veins

A leech stealing love as his life-meal, his blood

Leaves a discarded carcass of all that once was.

2 Responses to “Poem”

  1. The Universe August 14, 2013 at 4:48 pm #

    Wow. Thank you.

  2. Dominique Hayes August 16, 2013 at 9:08 pm #

    Very powerful. *offers hugs and love and support to the survivor*

Leave a Reply

